

Meeting Minutes for June 22, 2006 Meeting convened at Wallingford Community TV

Present:

Branford	John Elliott, Pat McGlashan , Marvin Zimmerman
	Billye Bradley
East Haven	Marie Saddig,
Guilford	Pete Garafolo, Jeff Lincoln
Madison	Stephen Fuest
North Haven	Carolyn Spetland (left at 8:15)
North Branford	Mary Bigelow, Joanne Wentworth
Wallingford	Susan Huizenga
Library	Ken Donadio
COMCAST	John Bairos
Regrets:	Pete Garafolo, Marvin Zimmerman, Pat McGlashan
Guests:	

I. Call to order/roll call.

Chairman Huizenga called the meeting to order at **7:21 PM**. **7** Towns represented, **10** Members present

II. Public Comments none

III. Review of Agenda:

Call to Order (7 pm) Welcome/Public Comments ... light refreshments Roll Call with Status of Advisor Terms *eligibility to vote* Approve May Minutes Executive Committee (EC) Report: Awards Presentation of Sustainers of Community Access Awards (7:15pm) Nominations Presentation of Slate of Officers (7:35 pm) Presentation of By-laws Proposal Update roll-call (as needed) Action on Motions to Accept By-laws Action on Motion to accept Slate of Officers/Election (7:45 pm) Treasurer' Annual Financial Report (Article IV - Financials Section 4.01 Budget) COMCAST REPORT Any remaining Deferred Business - Enter Log of Correspondence - Receipt of available/outstanding PEG Access Reports - Committee Updates New Business: Walk-thru of 7TownTV.org (8:15pm) - Direction to EC & Budget Committee

Public Comments/Adjourn

Roll Call, with Status of each advisor. No questions / changes.

IV. Minutes Action: Chairman Huizenga asked that the Minutes of the May 2006 meeting be reviewed for acceptance. No discussion/correction: **Steve Fuest.** called

the motion to accept. **Ken Donadio** seconded. The motion carried. Joanne Wentworth abstained. None opposed.

Treasurer Report was distributed prior to the meeting without objection and will be entered as distributed.

V. Presentation of SCA Awards 7:30pm

- 1. Raymond Smith, East Haven not present. Award accepted on his behalf by an individual from East Haven. "Would be a black screen without Raymond"
- 2. Roger Buckridge, North Haven
- 3. Planet Access Crew, Wallingford Joe, Katherine, Chris, Maryanne. Presented by their fan / nominee Scott ?
- 4. Bill Golambiski, East Haven
- 5. Marvin Zimmerman not present. Award accepted on his behalf by John Elliott.
- 6. Fred Brow, East Haven.

Please note: citizens / advisors are encouraged to participate in the SCA awards; the nomination link can be found on the 7towntv.org website.

VI. Nomination of Officers

John Elliott, representing the Nominating Committee, announced the nominees for the following positions: Susan Huizenga – Chairman Carolyn Spetland – Vice Chair / Secretary Pete Garafolo – Treasurer

S.H. asked if there were any others present who would like to entertain nominations, no action was taken.

VII. By-Laws Proposal

S.H. reported that over the last few years, it has been difficult to fill all available positions, and the roles and responsibilities regarding these vacancies have been unclear.

The Executive Committee needs a minimum of 3 members. In addition, the positions of Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer are available. The By-Laws Proposal is to merge the 3-person Executive Committee, making Vice Chair and Secretary one position.

John Elliott motions to accept the proposal. Marie Saddig seconded. No additional discussion or comments except to note that the advisors are voting with the understanding that prior advisors are the ones who will be casting votes. Furthermore, there has been no change in attendance at this point. Vote unanimous, no abstentions or oppositions.

Ken Donadio motioned to accept this presentation of Slate of Officers. John Elliott seconded. Note there was also a proxy vote for Pete Garafolo, who sent regrets. Joanne Wentworth and Mary Bigelow abstained, there were no oppositions.

VIII. Treasurer's Annual Financial Report

S.H. asks members to consider, as direction to the budget committee, the payment rate for the recording secretary. It was previously \$100 and has been \$75 for the last three years. If raised, more administrative business could be accomplished. This issue will be discussed at the next meeting.

IX. COMCAST Report.

Comcast Representative John Bairos and his supervisor sent regrets. Please note – During the awards, S.H. forgot to thank advisors and congratulate the awardees on behalf of Comcast.

The Comcast Report scheduled for today included the following items:

- 1. Comcast participated in the Touch-A-Truck program.
- 2. Marketing change: VH1 Country was converted into CMT pure country.
- 3. The two submitted questions for the customer satisfaction survey were accepted.

X. Log of Correspondence

Currently no log of correspondence. It will appear on the website when updated.

XI. Committee Reports

There are no committee updates at this time. Marie Saddig asks members to note that next month's meeting, held in East Haven, will be the annual pizza party.

XII. New Business

Filing issue with the Secretary of State: There is a \$25/yr fee to be recognized as a corporation. This year's report will not be accepted until the old reports, dating back to 1996, are fixed. Therefore advisors are asked to provide verification if they know who the cable advisory officials were at this time (1994 – 1997). Unpaid fees total \$150; interest will not be asked for.

XIII. New Business: Website Walk-Through

All contact / location info is correct for the following towns: North Haven, North Branford, Madison, East Haven. Madison and East Haven advisors are encouraged to submit more information to be placed in the far right sidebar of their pages.

The following changes need to be made to the website:

- 1. Branford Include the studio address, not just the P.O. box. Update the leadership information. Update the logo.
- 2. Guilford Update the coordinator information. Include a studio address.
- 3. Wallingford The WGTV Story link needs to be updated.
- 4. The 2006 Comcast Scholarship winners need to be added.
- 5. The name "Community TV Systems" (1975) should be added to the list of franchise / cable company names.
- 6. The press release regarding the 2006 Annual Meeting should be added to the press release page.
- 7. The "For Producers" Link should be deleted because it links to the same page as "Resources".
- 8. Update the totals from iGive.

XIV. Public Comments

None.

XV. Adjournment

John Elliott motions to adjourn; Ken Donadio seconds. Meeting adjourned at 8:39pm.

Respectfully submitted: Elizabeth Frager